current skincare routine

I wanted to post an updated skincare routine now that we are in this transitional weather here in New York, and I’ve been really happy with the products I’ve been using lately.

One of the most important things I can do for my skin is to keep my routine consistent. If I try a bunch of new products my skin reacts negatively and then I end up trying to fix my skin for weeks. I do, however, keep products in rotation. This is because I know that switching things up, for example, one night a facial oil and the following night a moisturizer, keeps my skin looking its best.

In other words, I like to keep my routine consistent, but within those products that work well for me, I rotate them daily.

Here is a breakdown of what I use and why it works for me!

Morning:

Cleanserlancome LAIT GALATÉE CONFORT- COMFORTING MAKEUP REMOVER MILK WITH HONEY AND SWEET ALMOND OIL FOR DRY SKIN

I prefer this cleanser over foaming cleansers because those tend to strip my skin of its natural oils. I never use a cleanser that foams or suds up, they are way too harsh for my skin and unnecessary especially since I double cleanse (in the evenings I use a separate makeup removing oil).

TonerFRESH  Vitamin Nectar Antioxidant Face Mist

I give myself a generous spritz of this toning spray and it leaves my skin feeling refreshed and ready for the day. It wakes me up with its lovely citrus scent. No cotton pad needed, which is helpful for mornings- one less step. I just love breathing it in- the scent is intoxicating.

Serum- ANTHELIOS AOX ANTIOXIDANT SERUM SPF 50- Daily Antioxidant Serum with Sunscreen

This is genius! A serum and sunscreen combined. I apply this every morning and don’t have to worry about whether my foundation has SPF in it or not. It sinks right into my skin, leaves no residue at all. In fact, it smooths out my skin as if I applied a primer. New find, but it’s here to stay!

I find this hydrating enough that I don’t need to apply a separate moisturizer in the mornings. If my skin is feeling dehydrated that morning, I will reach for this or this.

Evening:

Remove makeup:

I like to remove my makeup as soon as I get home from work and I usually one of these to do so FARMACY  Green Clean Makeup Removing Cleansing Balm  

or  AMOREPACIFIC Treatment Cleansing Oil Face & Eyes

These both work brilliantly at removing my makeup, even all my stubborn mascara and eye liner. I reach for whichever one I am in the mood for. I love them both!

Cleanser: I use the same cleanser as in the mornings.

Scrub- Every other night I use this scrub. I love the texture and it leaves my skin super clean and soft.

Toner- I will use one of these two toners. They are both very hydrating which is what my skin needs, especially in the evenings.

KIEHL’S SINCE 1851 Ultra Facial Toner

OR

LANCÔME Tonique Confort Re-Hydrating Comforting Toner with Acacia Honey

Serum- After toner I like to use one of the following serums:

CAUDALIE Vinoperfect Radiance Serum- This is quite hydrating and I find it brightens my complexion as well. 

OR

ESTÉE LAUDER Advanced Night Repair Synchronized Recovery Complex II- It’s no wonder this has been a cult favorite for so long. This serum is an anti aging magic potion. My mom uses it. My sister uses it. I use it. Maybe one day my daughter will use it. 

Eye cream-FRESH Rose Hydrating Eye Gel Cream

I am on my third little tub of this stuff and I can’t find a thing I don’t like about it. This is the best eye cream I’ve come across.

Moisturizer/ Night cream– For my night cream I am looking for something that deeply hydrates so I tend to use a facial oil or a cream. I love these:

Tatcha the water cream- see my review here 

Kiehl’s midnight recovery oil- see my review here 

Other moisturizers I love include Kiehl’s ultra facial cream, Fresh Rose cream and Clinique Moisture Surge.

 

What is your current skincare routine or what are some products that are staples in your routine?

Sincerely,

Surleen

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment