salted peanut butter cookies

IMG_7855.jpg

Being married to a peanut butter lover has given me the opportunity to discover lots of different recipes in pb is the star.  Growing up the only time I had peanut butter was once in a while at school for lunch in the form of the class peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Don’t get me wrong, I liked it. Peanut butter was just not something I craved or wanted in some form every day (like my husband does). He loves these peanut butter bars that I make, these peanut butter cookies, and now loves these super easy to make cookies! The only thing he says they’re missing of course is….chocolate. Next time I make him a batch, I might have to add some dark chocolate chips–yummm.

IMG_7857.jpg

These are so good that I already have my eye on one (or four) post dinner… They require very few ingredients- five to be exact, and four if you want to omit the salt on top. Make the full recipe though- you will regret making half because I assure you these will be gone before your cookie sheets have even cooled.

IMG_7858.jpg

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cups (335 grams) packed light brown sugar
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups (450 grams) smooth peanut butter
Coarse-grained sea salt, to finish

Method:

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper. I used a silicone mat- my new best friend.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the light brown sugar and eggs until smooth. Whisk in the vanilla extract, then the peanut butter until smooth and completely incorporated; you shouldn’t be able to see any ribbons of peanut butter.

You can freeze the dough before baking these but I did not and they came out great. Scoop out the dough- I used a small ice cream scoop. Sprinkle the dough balls lightly with coarse-grained sea salt just before baking. Mine baked perfectly when in the oven for 16 minutes. When finished, cookies should be golden at edges.

Let them cook completely, if you can, before serving. There was none of that around our kitchen though. Warm cookies were eaten and peanut butter lovers were very happy.

IMG_7861.jpg

 

Sincerely,

Surleen 

3 thoughts on “salted peanut butter cookies

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

