food

baked french fries

IMG_4938.jpg

I have a serious love affair with the potato. You can give me one in any form- fried, roasted, baked, boiled…I love my potatoes and cannot be without them. If you know me, you know that potatoes are one of my greatest weaknesses. I cannot say no to a bag of potato chips. I will not be that person who says they want salad on the side when ordering at a restaurant- when given the choice of salad or fries, I will always pick the fries- and no, not the sweet potato fries.

IMG_4923.jpg

I’ve been making my own fries for years now by baking them. When I was younger, Mom would fry them up for us and I remember how addictive every last salty ketchup drenched bite was. Now that I’m older and try to be a little healthier, I don’t make the fried version. I actually don’t like frying food- (eating it is a different matter).

IMG_4925.jpg

IMG_4929 (1).jpgThis recipe has the extra step of par boiling the potatoes which I think is the reason why they come out so nice and crispy on the outside. So much so that you could even fool a french fry novice into thinking they’ve been fried.

img_4931

Ingredients:

2-3 russet potatoes

3-4 tbsp olive oil

salt

Method:

Heat oven to 450 degrees F.

Cut your potatoes to desired thickness and place in a large pot and cover with an inch or two of water. Set heat to high and set timer for 10 minutes. Drain the potatoes after 10 minutes.

Coat a large baking sheet with foil and  2 to 3 tablespoons of olive oil.

Drain your potatoes and immediately spread them on oiled baking sheet in one layer. Drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and roast for 20 minutes, until golden underneath. Toss potatoes around return them to the oven for another 5 minutes- 10 minutes.

Season with more salt while they’re hot and enjoy!

recipe adapted from the smitten kitchen 

 

 

3 thoughts on “baked french fries

Leave a Reply

