an equal music by vikram seth

51og22rspyl-_sx321_bo1204203200_

 

I assumed it would be extremely difficult to write about music , but Vikram Seth has written so beautifully about it in this moving novel, that I find it hard to believe he isn’t a musician himself. The novel itself takes place in breath taking romantic cities like London, Vienna and Venice, which left me longing to be back in Europe.

Vikram Seth writes: ”Music to me is dearer even than speech.” His love for music shines in his ability to describe it better than anything I have ever read. This novel is elegantly written and the ending did not fail to touch me.

Seth describes different relationships, the ones we have with others and the one we have with our musical instruments. I have a new found respect for my sitar and can’t imagine life without it. I now have a deeper respect not only for music, but also for all the sounds around us that we so easily take for granted.

I can’t wait to read more of his work.

 

2 thoughts on “an equal music by vikram seth

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

