all the bright places

18460392.jpg

 

I loved this book so much because it has completely changed my view on depression and suicide. I always believed suicide was a selfish act, that no one had the right to inflict on their loved ones. After reading the heart wrenching story of Bipolar (and death obsessed) Finch, however, I see his struggle and can empathize with those in similar situations.

I instantly fell in love with Violet and Finch and was rooting for their love throughout the book. One of the most endearing qualities of Finch is that he can recite Dr. Seuss’ “Oh, the Places You’ll Go!”, which happens to be my favorite book of all time. He reawakens in Violet what had been dormant since the death of her sister. Finch sees the best in Violet- he sees in her what she doesn’t see in herself. Their love story is heart wrenching until the very end and I could not put it down. It’s been days since I read the last sentence and it still has not left me.

I’m desparately waiting for this book to be made into a movie…

 

2 thoughts on “all the bright places

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

