my winter skincare routine

 

IMG_1361

We are now in the midst of chilly weather and my skin has definitely been letting me know that it’s feeling dehydrated. This means more nights of staying in, pampering and nourishing my skin (I’m not complaining!) There have recently been some days where I find myself briskly walking to our apartment building so I can get indoors and escape the cold gusts of air…and also to be greeted by Chutney:) There’s nothing like a relaxing evening where you can take your time with your skincare routine, apply a mask and have a cup of tea…it’s the best feeling after a long day at work.

The first thing I like to do in the mornings is either use Lancome’s EAU FRAÎCHE DOUCEUR micellar water to remove all the traces of oils from the night (read my full review here), or going straight in with dermalogica special cleansing gel. I love that this cleanser doesn’t strip my face of its natural oils nor does it leave my skin feeling tight. Read my review here.

After cleansing I spritz the Aveda toning mist all over my face and then pat it in with my fingers. This is my favorite toner for the morning as well as before applying a mask. It is refreshing and hydrating.

I then apply a 2-3 pumps of the estee lauder clear difference serum. I like using this to keep that pesky acne away!! After this serum/treatment, I apply my current favorite eye cream, which is the origins ginzing refreshing eye cream. It leaves my under eye area hydrated and has a brightening effect while applying well under makeup. It’s a winner!

IMG_1368

The last step is moisturizer and for this I like to apply a thin layer of Clinique moisture surge. I love this moisturizer so so much- see my full review here. Once this absorbs into my skin, I apply my SPF, MD Solar Sciences . I find these two work really well to keep my skin comfortable, shine- free and protected from the sun throughout the day.

In the evenings, I remove my makeup with clinique take the day off, which has been a staple in my skincare routine for almost a year now. After removing my makeup I use the special cleansing gel, followed by the daily microfoliant. I like to use this in the shower (it’s easier). Once I hop out of the shower, I spritz my face and pat in the antioxidant hydra mist. This toner makes my skin baby soft and makes my moisturizer apply like a dream! It also preps my skin for my holy grail serum and helps it sink into the skin. The last two steps in my routine are my eye cream ( I plan to do a full review on this soon) and the clinique moisture surge moisturizer.

Once a week treatments I alternate between:

IMG_1379

The fresh sugar face polish works really well on my skin during the winter months. It exfoliates gently while hydrating the skin as well. This is probably my favorite luxury beauty product. It takes my skincare routine to a different level.

Estee lauder clear difference mask is a must have for me to keep acne at bay. I leave it on for five minutes and it leaves my skin very very clean.

Fresh Umbrian Clay Mattifying Face Exfoliant is nice to use before something more hydrating such as the Antipodes manuka honey mask. This is a great combination for pamper nights.

What are your winter skincare essentials?

14 thoughts on “my winter skincare routine

Add yours

  1. Hi,love your skin care routine.Dermalogica products are so good,I’m using essential cleansing solution ad it’s cold in the UK but in the summer I definitely use special cleansing gel.

    Like

    1. Thanks darling! I tried the essential cleansing solution but it was a bit too rich for my skin. I think the trick is to use the hydra mist after cleansing with the special cleansing gel. Otherwise, my skin feels tight. The hydra mist is an amazing product:) thanks for stopping by! xoxo

      Like

  2. I’ve been meaning to try the EL ANR serum, but haven’t used my sample yet since I haven’t derailed from the usual. It’s not so much my ultimate winter skin care essential, but my all year essential is coconut oil. I’ve been using it for years to take off make-up, cleanse and moisturizer. It’s my oil skin savior! Other the Body Shop’s Vitamin C Glow Boosting Moisturizer and Skin Boost has kept my skin more fresh and bright for the winter months!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

