beauty

skincare tips

Skincare is such a personal thing. I have not been blessed with beautiful skin to say the least. As a teenager, I suffered from acne like most teens do but as I entered high school and my college years, my skin was clear for the most part. Probably because of this, I never really “took care” of it. I used whatever cleanser and moisturizer was around, never used a toner or exfoliating scrub and didn’t even know that there are steps to a skincare routine! So this went on for a number of years until recently (around 2 years ago), I started to experience adult hormonal acne.  I tried to take care of it on my own before visiting dermatologists who gave me rounds of medication which made my skin peel from being so dry. I suffered from red patches and irritation as a result. So I stopped using the medication…then my acne would come back and it was back to the meds…and so on.

I now realize that I really have to baby my skin in order for it to be at its best. Unfortunately, I can’t be lazy about my skincare and take it pretty seriously. It’s not perfect by any means, but it  does feel nourished, hydrated and healthy. To me, that is more important than trying the next best treatment to get ride of my acne scars. I am no longer fixated on this! (I was for a while).

In becoming more aware of skincare, I have tried numerous products. I was originally going to write an updated “holy grail” skincare post similar to this one, but I realize that it might not be so helpful. Skin is so different and individual. So I thought it would be more helpful to share some skincare tips. Here are some lessons I have learned along the way, which have made me not only more knowledgeable but also more confident in my skin:

  • wear sunscreen every single day 
  • keep your routine minimal especially if you are experiencing breakouts
  • don’t try more than one new product at a time and use it once or twice per week at first to see how your skin reacts to it
  • use an eye cream every morning and every night if you are over the age of 18
  • do NOT pop your pimples! I am left with acne scars because of this terrible habit
  • use a serum and/or moisturizer every single night even if you have oily skin 
  • hydrate your skin even more when traveling
  • drink at least 6 glasses of water a day! (this one is really hard for me, I still struggle with it)
  • don’t try every product under the sun! Stick with what you KNOW works for you
  • let your skin breathe on the weekends and minimize makeup application ( I like to use a CC cream like this one)
  • exfoliate your skin at least twice per week and use a mask once a week
  • INVEST in good quality skincare! Your skin will thank you for years to come!

Some tried and true skincare brands for me are:

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “skincare tips

Leave a Reply

