spaghetti and “meatballs”

I have always liked the idea of spaghetti and meatballs, but being a vegetarian since birth, I’ve never actually tried a meatball. The “meatballs” I have tried have been made of some sort of frozen meat substitute, which I do not find appetizing in the least!

So I thought I would give these meatballs a whirl by using eggplant as the base. I combine sautéed eggplant with mozzarella cheese, breadcrumbs, eggs and parmesan,and shallow fry, resulting in an extremely flavorful and moist ball of non- meat substituted goodness!!

My husband not only LOVED these but also volunteered to do the frying portion (he’s better at that than I am and doesn’t burn himself all the time like I do). We will definitely be making these again.

unnamed

Ingredients:

one eggplant, cubed & sprinkled with salt

one large yellow onion chopped

3 garlic cloves

2 eggs

1/2 cup shredded mozzarella

1/2 cup grated parmesan

1 tbsp italian seasoning

1 tsp red chilli pepper flakes

salt & pepper to taste

Method:

Sautee the onions, garlic and eggplant until eggplant has softened. Add seasonings.

Using a food processor, combine the eggplant mixture until it forms a smooth mixture.

Add remaining ingredients to eggplant mixture and refrigerate for 30 minutes or more. This will help bind the mixture so you can easily form the balls.

Form into rounded balls and shallow fry for 6 minutes, while turning them halfway. Be very careful!

Serve hot with spaghetti and marinara!

These would also be great inside a pita pocket with tahini and some shards of feta.

They freeze well too:) Check out my eggplant Parmesan post here! 

13 thoughts on “spaghetti and “meatballs”

Add yours

    1. I was never a fan of eggplant before I started making my own eggplant Parmesan. I must say, it’s quite flavorful! I hope you enjoy these as much as my husband and I did! I had them for lunch today between burger buns!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

