how I got clear skin

IMG_9011

I enjoy the glamour of using various makeup and beauty products, but none of that is any fun if you struggle with acne. If you are someone who has ever struggled with acne, you know how devastating it can be. I went through such a period where nothing I did was helping me control my hormonal acne. So I started doing lots of research into which ingredients would best help my skin. I stumbled upon this product and thought I would give it a try. I had never used anything by dermalogica before and the only thing I knew about it was that it was safe to use for sensitive skin. The product I have been using daily is their  microfoliant and is basically a rice enzyme powder, which forms into a paste when combined with water. Salicylic acid, which this contains in a small amount, is an acne buster for me. This product contains papain as well (an enzyme from a papaya tree), along with green tea, ginkgo, and oatmeal. I apply this every night, after using my cleanser and it has done a fantastic job at keeping my skin clear. Of course, I still get the occasional pimple here and there.

IMG_9014

This sounds strange, but I am thankful for having to deal with adult hormonal acne. It has forced me to take especially good care of my skin, and to research the products I apply on my face before purchasing or even sampling them. I have learned that what works for someone’s skin may not work for mine. With that being said, I can recommend this product to anyone who is acne prone, since it is extremely gentle and fragrance free. I started using it at a time when anything new was causing me to break out and it actually calmed my skin down significantly. Another great thing about it is that you can add more or less water to achieve the consistency that is most effective for you. This is one product that I cannot be without.

Have you ever had to deal with acne? What has worked for you?

10 thoughts on “how I got clear skin

Add yours

  1. Sounds awesome. I also have adult acne, sigh! What usually works is if I use something with salicylic acid in the cleanser followed by a cream with benzoyl peroxide

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! Great post, totally something I can relate to as well! I had terrible acne as a teenager and still feel super self conscious with the scars its left behind. I am trying to deal more with the blemishes now..I barely try out too many samples for my face mainly cz Im too scared whats going to break me out! But hands down, Dermalogica is the BEST! I use their ultra-calming cleanser for sensitive skin and it really works wonders..I also use Cetaphil moisturizer/cleanser and Sebamed Facewash sometimes (get it online from amazon) as must-haves 🙂 Glad you found your miracle product..will try it out too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you can relate with my experience. I’m so relieved to no longer have breakouts. I have to deal with my post acne scars as well but haven’t been too focused on that yet. Let me know if you have found something that works for you. I will look into the ultra calming cleanser as well. Thanks for telling me about it! Xoxo

      Like

  3. I had hormonal acne for the longest time, too (in my late twenties, gah!). I can totally relate. I’m not entirely sure because there have been some other changes in my life, but ever since I started getting more sleep (and less stress), it has mostly gone away. It does threaten to come back if I overwork myself again, boo!

    I am so happy for you that you found a product that works! I’ll keep it in mind, since I do still get the occasional monthly zit.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Yes stress and dirt can certainly make an impact. Skin is such a complex organ! I do hope you try this and that it works for you. I find it very relaxing and look forward to using this every night. It’s a nice little thing I get to do for my skin, even if I am not currently fighting breakouts:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

