beauty

my favorite cleansers

Before I started taking my skincare seriously, I used to think that a cleanser was just a cleanser- it just cleans my face so how important could it really be? It turns out that the cleaning step is critical and that’s why it’s so important to find the right cleanser for your specific needs and our ever-changing skin. I wanted to share which cleansers work best for me and that each one has a specific purpose. depending on what my skin needs and the time of the year. I find that using a separate cleanser for am and pm works best for me since my skin is different when I first wake up versus when I’ve been out for 8 to 10 hours.

So here are my favorites and why I like them:

IMG_8739

left to right: perricone md hypoallergenic gentle cleaner, peter thomas roth anti aging cleansing gel, aveda botanical kinetics creme cleanser, clinique liquid facial soap

Perricone MD Hypoallergenic Gentle Cleanser:

IMG_8740

This is very gentle yet effective and has no fragrance. I can use this am and pm since it does a great job at removing all my makeup as well as giving me a nice canvas with which to apply makeup in the mornings. Best of all, it does not cause any skin irritation or tightness. It is very soothing due to the olive oil and makes my skin soft as a baby’s bottom! This can be used any time of the year, day or night. Best overall cleanser hands down.

Peter Thomas Roth Anti-Aging Cleansing Gel:

IMG_8741

This is an excellent cleansing gel if you are looking for a deep cleanse. Glycolic and salicylic acid help to brighten and clarify the skin, while fruit extracts help to soothe troubled skin. I like to use this one or two nights a week, when I am looking for a deep cleanse. I would not use this on a daily basis.

botanical kinetics purifying creme cleanser:

IMG_8742

I love love love this cleanser for winter mornings. It is extremely soothing, smells smoothing, and leaves my skin soft and supple. Now that the weather is (hopefully) getting warmer, I have put this one away, but will be using it next winter! It can also be used if your skin is feeling sensitive or is acting up- this is super gentle and soothes as a cream would. This does not lather so don’t expect bubbles!

CLINIQUE Liquid Facial Soap:

IMG_8743

I started using this when my skin was really acting up a few months ago and it really calmed it down. This is great cleanser if you’re looking for something “basic”, fragrance free and without any bells and whistles. I have never found any clinique products to be harsh or irritating and this is no different. I reach for this for pm use more than am, since it can leave my skin feeling a bit tight, which is fine at night since I like to use a rich moisturizer. It comes in a few types- mild for very dry to dry skin, mild for dry combination, combination oily to oily. This is nice because you can switch it up depending on the season, your skin’s needs, etc.

I hope this was helpful in helping you choose the right cleanser for your skin!

4 thoughts on “my favorite cleansers

Leave a Reply

