food / good reads

soba noodles with eggplant and mango- from plenty

IMG_8562

IMG_8572

My latest cookbook purchase,called plenty- vibrant vegetable recipes from London’s Ottolenghi, is unique in that each section is categorized by the each of these unassuming ingredients:

roots, mushrooms, squashes, peppers, brassicas (greens in the mustard family), eggplant, tomatoes, leaves, green beans, greens, pulses, grains, pasta, polenta and couscous, and finally fruit with cheese. Within each section, the vegetable gets to play the star role of the dish. I am hoping to post at least one dish I’ve either followed exactly, or modified, from each section within the next few weeks.

I am starting out of order in the book because this just looked amazing and I wanted noodles for dinner- so I went with a modified version of soba noodles with eggplant and mango

Modifications:

whole wheat thin spaghetti instead of soba

apple cider vinegar instead of rice vinegar

olive oil instead of sunflower oil (and a lot less)

omitted mango and cilantro

added tofu which was baked and then shallow fried (for 2-3 minutes)

This dish was made with love tonight with the help of my husband. We are both under the weather, but I really wanted to try this recipe, so it was a delicious team effort! I think I’m really going to enjoy this cookbook:)

http://www.amazon.com/Plenty-Vibrant-Vegetable-Recipes-Ottolenghi/dp/1452101248/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1425863417&sr=8-1&keywords=plenty

Leave a Reply

