paper crafts / photography

leaf decoupage mason jar

I’ve been recently obsessed with mason jars and have been looking up creative ways to use them. I was on pinterest the other day and came across this one decorated with fall leaves. Of course you can use real leaves but I happened to have fake ones already. I bought the mason jars from Michales for under $3 each.

Ok let’ get started!

You will need:

a mason jar- size of your choice

zots glue dots

decoupage (I use mod podge)

paint brush or sponge brush

tea light or flameless candle (if you will be using your final product as a lantern)

Stick the glue dots onto the back of the leaves and adhere to the jar. I like to layer them a bit and place them in different directions. Once the leaves are covering the jar, dip the brush in decoupage and paint a thin layer of the mod podge onto the leaves and the jar where there are spaces in between the leaves. Let dry completely overnight or at least for a few hours. It’s ok if it doesn’t look perfect- it’s meant to look rustic and handmade!

I’m not sure how I plan to use mine yet but one idea I have is to add fall scented potpourri inside. I think using it as a candle holder would also be good. How would you use yours?

IMG_7005 IMG_7007

 

IMG_7021 IMG_7023 IMG_7024 IMG_7027

I can’t wait to see what you’ve been doing with mason jars- share your creations in the comments section!!

Leave a Reply

