food

my tomato soup

I’m excited to share this simple yet delicious tomato soup recipe. I like my tomato soup on the chunky side and in this one I add some red pepper flakes to give it a nice kick! If you prefer a thinner texture, you can definitely put all the ingredients in a blender before simmering. This goes really well with grilled cheese, of course. Can’t beat a classic combo:)

Recipe serves 2-4

Here are the ingredients:

one can san marzano canned whole tomatoes

2-3 cups vegetable stock

one large shallot

2 garlic cloves

one tbsp olive oil

one tbsp butter

1 tsp red pepper flakes

1 tsp herbs de provence

a healthy splash of skim milk

Start by sautéing chopped shallots and minced garlic in oil and butter. I squeeze the whole tomatoes with the juice from the can in a large bowl. I suggest you do this step in the sink! Once the shallots and garlic have browned a bit I add the squeezed tomatoes along with the juice. To this add the stock varying the amount as to how thin you would like your soup. I added about 2 cups. Next add the spices, salt and freshly ground black pepper. Then add a splash of milk or skim milk or half and half, or if you are living life in the fast lane, CREAM:) I prefer to stay in the right lane so I went for the skim milk:) Let simmer for at least 20 minutes stirring occasionally. Serve hot!

IMG_6992

Leave a Reply

