paper crafts / photography

happy birthday Jai

I can’t believe Jai is turning 9- I am not sure how that happened.  I will always think of him as a baby, no matter how old he gets. I remember how my sister was pregnant and had Jai while I was in grad school.  Every single person in my graduating class knew all about my nephew and how much I love being his “Masi”. I still remember all the birthdays, school events and many “firsts” that he has had. I love that I was and still am, a part of his life. I still remember moments in the hospital when my sister was in labor- I  was overprotective of her then and still am when it comes to my nephews. I can’t stand the thought of them being hurt, disappointed or unhappy. I’ve learned a lot from Jai- from an early age he has had the gift of empathy. He is very sensitive to the needs of others, makes people around him feel comfortable and has always had such a great sense of humor (which he undoubtedly gets from his masi). Jai is a wonderful big brother, so caring and loving towards Jeet. He’s wise beyond his years which is seen in the his maturity and responsibility. Just the other day we were at my sister’s and he walked in from swimming practice. The first thing he did was take off his shoes and put them in the shoe bin near the door. How many 8 year old boys have you seen with that kind of discipline?? Another thing I love about Jai is how he has bonded with my husband over the years- it’s a special thing to witness. Even though I could go on and on, one last thing that makes Jai so unique is his memory- it’s uncanny how he can recall the smallest of details from years past. He also has the best manners, and is super polite. He sends handmade thank you cards to us and acknowledges the little things we try to do for him. He really is a great kid and I love him so much:)

IMG_3101

 

9 birthday candles for the birthday boy

9 birthday candles for the birthday boy

One thought on “happy birthday Jai

Leave a Reply

